2017 reading: some delusions

It occurred to me to make a list of books I think I might like to read in 2017, though I cannot call this list a “plan.” I will be very surprised if I read everything on here, or even most. But it will be interesting, at least for myself, to compare at the end of the year my expectations with the reality.

Poetry

Homer – Iliad (tr. Lombardo)
Homer – Odyssey (tr. Lombardo)
Virgil – Aeneid (tr. Lombardo)
John Milton – Paradise Lost
Robert Frost – Collected Poems (Library of America)
Geoffrey Hill – Broken Hierarchies (parts of it)
John Peck – Cantilena (finish)
19th Century American Poetry vols. 1 and 2 (Library of America)
4+ as yet unchosen books of contemporary poetry

Other

Fernando Pessoa – The Book of Disquiet 
Yuriko Saito – Everyday Aesthetics
Abraham Lincoln – Speeches and Writings (2 vols.; Library of America)
Ulysses S. Grant – Memoirs
Alexis de Tocqueville – Democracy in America
Wu Yubi – The Journal of Wu Yubi
Willa Cather – My Antonia; O Pioneers
Witold Gombrowicz – Diary (tr. Vallee)
Herodotus – The History (tr. Grene)
Wilfrid Thesiger – Arabian Sands

Parry

